Page 1 of 1

Comcast and Playstations?

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:12 pm
by Oof
Im new to this whole online gaming crap so maybe you can give me a heads up. It keeps asking me for my username and password. Thing is, I dont have a username and password to log into Comcast. Anyone know how to get this playstation online?

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:28 pm
by Chris Slack
Sorry, don't know PS2 online. I did move this to the video games forum though, more chance to get an answer here. Xbox Live works great with Comcast without any hassle :)

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:39 am
by Jef
well,....if I am understanding you correctly,...you DONT use comcast to connect to the internet?
if this is the case,I think that would be your problem,.....as I understand it,...even though the online PS2 service is free (from what I have heard) you still need a comcast broadband account to access the net on the cable.

theres also a bunch of info here

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 8:03 am
by Oof
Thanx Chris, I thought about where I posted it a bit too late. :)

I DO connect to the internet using the Comcast connection. The only thing I had to enter initially to connect to the internet was my customer number. There was no username and password. But yet it asks me for them trying to log onto the internet with my PS2. Ive talked to Comcast and they have no clue what the fuck to do.

Maybe I need to call back and talk to someone else.

Heh...

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 8:37 am
by ZXRO
Depending on the game you are trying to play, it might be asking for your Gamespy account info. I know the Tony Hawk games use Gamespy. Give that a shot. If you don't already have one, get one, they are free.

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 8:43 am
by Oof
ZXRO wrote:Depending on the game you are trying to play, it might be asking for your Gamespy account info. I know the Tony Hawk games use Gamespy. Give that a shot. If you don't already have one, get one, they are free.


Its not even a game Im trying to play, its the online set-up disk. Its asking me for my ISP username and password. Which Comcast couldnt figure out.

Fuck em, Ill just call em back.

Hmmm...

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 9:18 am
by ZXRO
Have you tried your email/password yet? Like the email that the account is registered under? I know that if you go to the main Comcast website and you want to access certain features, you have to enter your email and password.

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 9:28 am
by Oof
I tried that several times. I just got done talking with someone online that knew what to do. I dont know why the first person I talked to was so lost. Cause the person I just talked to was like...here: http://www.comcast.net/help/faq/index.jsp?faq=ConnectionOnline_Gaming17647

Lol...

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:34 am
by ZXRO
You probably coulda googled it too.

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:38 am
by Oof
Prolly, but that would just make too much sense now wouldnt it? HA!

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:02 am
by facelessgod
i know you can email comcast through the website.
i recently subscribed to comcast as my broadband isp.
and within the install process, it did require i setup
a user name and password.

try reinstalling because some of the discs are a bit dodgy...
if not - contact comcast tech support.

goodluck.

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 8:36 am
by damstraiht
Yeah XBox was a no brainer. Plug in , subscribe and go. No Comcast login request. Just run straight off the cable modem connection.

Why are you using the Comcast setup disk on your PS2? That's for setting up your computer (not PS2) to connect. I used my comp to set up the Comcast account initially, then move the cable modem into the living room when I want to go onto XBox live. Maybe try that

Note you cannot use two different cable modems on your home setup due to ISP conflict, Comcast sets your account to work only with one cable modem address, you can however network multiple computers and your PS2/XBox using a router hub.

Are you just using one cable modem? If you have your computer hooked up into one cable modem and another cable modem plugged into the PS2 , you will have issues as Comcast will only recognize one ISP address.

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:17 pm
by Swashbuckler
Yeah, I remember using PS2 Online with Comcast, I had no problems.