Ha ha ha, 1080p FTW...

This forum is for discussion of console and PC games.

Moderator: Chris Slack

Post Reply
User avatar
ZXRO
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 7:33 pm
Location: Seattle

Ha ha ha, 1080p FTW...

Post by ZXRO » Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:45 pm

Dunno when it happened, but the 360 now has a 1080p display setting. I like to think they updated it the day the PS3 came out.
[color=DarkRed][i]"Oh James, I am getting away with murder and you're just jealous" -Michael Alig[/i][/color]

[url=http://profile.mygamercard.net/ZxRO+MBM][img]http://card.mygamercard.net/recessed/plate/ZxRO+MBM.png[/img][/url]


User avatar
Chris Slack
Posts: 5498
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 1999 12:00 pm
Location: Everett WA USA
Contact:

Post by Chris Slack » Sun Nov 26, 2006 10:08 pm

They added that with the fall update a couple of weeks ago. Damned if I am going to go upgrade to a 1080p TV though :)
"Regrettable... I was hoping for a colleague, but at least we have
another experimental subject..." -Mesa of Lost Women

User avatar
ZXRO
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 7:33 pm
Location: Seattle

Totally...

Post by ZXRO » Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:09 am

Yeah, there aren't any 1080p games yet, and I dunno how many developers are even gonna bother to support that resolution. Might be nice with the 360 HD-DVD player tho, but I am not sure if HD-DVDs are gonna support that resolution.
[color=DarkRed][i]"Oh James, I am getting away with murder and you're just jealous" -Michael Alig[/i][/color]

[url=http://profile.mygamercard.net/ZxRO+MBM][img]http://card.mygamercard.net/recessed/plate/ZxRO+MBM.png[/img][/url]

User avatar
Drew
Posts: 1851
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: South of Hell! (I mean Everott)

Post by Drew » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:00 pm

They will, ... the problem is the dang 360 HD drive has no HDMI and there are very few TV's that support 1080p thru component cables.

Its a nice upgrade, got to see the demo of it 3 wks before release. They also now have the video rental area up and running (see VIDEO MARKETPLACE). Not that much content yet and you'll need a bigger hard drive (coming at some point), but the HD movies they got for DL are nice if you dont have a PS3/HD plyr/or the drive.

User avatar
skankdrummer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: PHX-SEA
Contact:

Post by skankdrummer » Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:59 pm

Is this the setting in main XBOX 360 screen ?
[url]http://www.myspace.com/skankdrummersdemos[/url]
DRUMS - Motley Ju.

Availible for Studio Work.


User avatar
Drew
Posts: 1851
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: South of Hell! (I mean Everott)

Post by Drew » Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:55 am

Yup one of the tabs... same tab as Music/Video/Pictures/Media Center

User avatar
skankdrummer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: PHX-SEA
Contact:

Post by skankdrummer » Thu Nov 30, 2006 2:37 pm

Drew wrote:Yup one of the tabs... same tab as Music/Video/Pictures/Media Center




I guess i had it set on 1080 lol


How do i connect the X360 to my pc.

Do you have to have the Xbox 360 wireless deal?
[url]http://www.myspace.com/skankdrummersdemos[/url]
DRUMS - Motley Ju.

Availible for Studio Work.

User avatar
ZXRO
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 7:33 pm
Location: Seattle

Connect...

Post by ZXRO » Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:55 pm

skankdrummer wrote:I guess i had it set on 1080 lol


How do i connect the X360 to my pc.

Do you have to have the Xbox 360 wireless deal?


If you mean connect it to your PC to stream music or videos through your Xbox, you need either the newest version of Windows Media Player, or download http://www.xbconnect.com/.

With Windows Media, just sync it to your Xbox. It's easy.

BTW, with the advent of downloadable movie trailers on Xbox Live Marketplace, I highly recommend you go download the trailer for 300. Every hard drive should have that.
[color=DarkRed][i]"Oh James, I am getting away with murder and you're just jealous" -Michael Alig[/i][/color]

[url=http://profile.mygamercard.net/ZxRO+MBM][img]http://card.mygamercard.net/recessed/plate/ZxRO+MBM.png[/img][/url]

User avatar
Chris Slack
Posts: 5498
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 1999 12:00 pm
Location: Everett WA USA
Contact:

Post by Chris Slack » Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:21 pm

ZXRO wrote:
BTW, with the advent of downloadable movie trailers on Xbox Live Marketplace, I highly recommend you go download the trailer for 300. Every hard drive should have that.


He speaks the truth. I hope the movie is half as good as the trailer :)
"Regrettable... I was hoping for a colleague, but at least we have
another experimental subject..." -Mesa of Lost Women

User avatar
skankdrummer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: PHX-SEA
Contact:

Post by skankdrummer » Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:30 am

Thanks ZXRO.

heres what i got. I got the 360 to connext with my laptop. It plays music and views pics in the DASHBOARD part. when it connects to my PC MEDIA CENTER it does not play vids of music. its says unable to validate security for Media center extender. Then for videos and other MP3's it says : An error has occured while using Media Center Extender. To Continue Reset your device for more info about reseting your Extender refer to your Hardware documentation..

How do i do that. I didnt find that in the Search Results for Extender.

Also it does not sync with my Media Player 11

I did download the Xboxconnect. How do i use that to play vids and Music. all i get so far is like a chat room?


Thanks

S
[url]http://www.myspace.com/skankdrummersdemos[/url]
DRUMS - Motley Ju.

Availible for Studio Work.

User avatar
skankdrummer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: PHX-SEA
Contact:

Post by skankdrummer » Fri Dec 01, 2006 11:35 am

Still doesnt work :(
[url]http://www.myspace.com/skankdrummersdemos[/url]
DRUMS - Motley Ju.

Availible for Studio Work.

User avatar
Drew
Posts: 1851
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: South of Hell! (I mean Everott)

Post by Drew » Fri Dec 01, 2006 11:51 am

Connecting to a non media center PC is easy (winmediaconnect or WMP11). If you have Media Center you need the extender. It also needs to be a legit copy of the OS to validate. If you got a pirated copy I'm not sure it will validate.

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/community/personality/elle/20060203-pcmedia2.htm

User avatar
skankdrummer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: PHX-SEA
Contact:

Post by skankdrummer » Fri Dec 01, 2006 11:58 am

Drew wrote:Connecting to a non media center PC is easy (winmediaconnect or WMP11). If you have Media Center you need the extender. It also needs to be a legit copy of the OS to validate. If you got a pirated copy I'm not sure it will validate.

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/community/personality/elle/20060203-pcmedia2.htm


Thanks Drew.. Its all legit Im using My HP Media Center 9040 Laptop. The X360 is conected to it but im havin the validating issue .. see the post i put up before.

Thanks

S
[url]http://www.myspace.com/skankdrummersdemos[/url]
DRUMS - Motley Ju.

Availible for Studio Work.

User avatar
Chris Slack
Posts: 5498
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 1999 12:00 pm
Location: Everett WA USA
Contact:

Post by Chris Slack » Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:10 pm

It's probably your firewall, check out this FAQ and post up on the forums for further assistance :)

Being an HP I wouldn't doubt if they have security settings /software designed to "protect" the end user which end up fucking over anyone wanting to do things besides basic web surfing :)
"Regrettable... I was hoping for a colleague, but at least we have
another experimental subject..." -Mesa of Lost Women

User avatar
skankdrummer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: PHX-SEA
Contact:

Post by skankdrummer » Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:35 pm

Thanks Chris

Problem Solved :) it was the Firewall Settings it works great .


:cheers:

S
[url]http://www.myspace.com/skankdrummersdemos[/url]
DRUMS - Motley Ju.

Availible for Studio Work.

User avatar
Drew
Posts: 1851
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: South of Hell! (I mean Everott)

Post by Drew » Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:20 pm

Isnt the internet great. Instant tech support!

Glad its working!

User avatar
skankdrummer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: PHX-SEA
Contact:

Post by skankdrummer » Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:10 pm

Drew wrote:Isnt the internet great. Instant tech support!

Glad its working!


yeah :) it was ZXRO, Chris and you.. thanks.. Now i need to get on XBOX LIVE and kick the crap out of someone on fight night RD 3 :D
[url]http://www.myspace.com/skankdrummersdemos[/url]
DRUMS - Motley Ju.

Availible for Studio Work.


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests